Reasons To Be Cheerful #8: New Neighbours

5 Apr
That's when good neighbours become good friends

That’s when good neighbours become good friends

Even though our deteriorating society knows nothing of community or social unpstandingness, I am willing to go out on a limb and say that neighbours still have a place in our world. And I don’t just mean next door. 

We’ve recently acquired new ones downstairs and though I’ve yet to meet them, there are a number of things that make me feel assured of their essential goodness. Here goes:

1. Plant Pots = Good People

My first sighting of the new neighbours, well, one of the top of their heads at least, occurred when he was putting out plant pots on the inside window ledge. This must be a good thing. We buy plants very occasionally  but at the times that we do have them I certainly feel better about both myself and my abode.

2. Prior Knowledge

As luck would have it, the male half of the newly-moved in couple just so happens to have once shared some goodtimes with my housemate. What a piece of serendipity. Surely this will mean shared interests…

3. They May Have a Cat

According to the afore-mentioned housemate, they may have a cat. The ‘may’ here could make this point look a little tenuous, but I would strenuously refute such a suggestion.

4. Finally, a Civilised Existence

Much unlike our refined selves, the previous neighbours were of a shady character and I strongly suspect that they were running a marijuana factory or a people traffiking one. Possibly both. Now that we have nice neighbours like ourselves I foresee a time filled with dinner parties, mutual milk buying and, of course, cat sitting.

(REASONS TO BE PISSED OFF: The housemate link could, possibly, backfire)

Leave a Reply

