Reasons To Be Cheeful #11: Thatcher’s Demise

10 Apr

Now before anyone gets irate or offended, this is not what you think it is. The Thatcher bashing has been done and I’ve nothing new to say on the matter of milk-stealing. I do however, have a few of my own entirely non-partisan reasons to celebrate the passing of the Iron Lady. So here goes:

1. A Break from Bowie

Don’t get me wrong, I like Bowie and appreciate his genius, talent and video use of Tilda Swinton just as much as the next. But really. The tirade of Bowie madness that I have endured for the past few weeks is enough to give anyone a case of the overkills.

2. An excuse for BBC 6 Music in the morning

For some years now I have started the day with Radio 4’s Today programme so that I can remain up on the news while laying down in bed. However, Thatcher’s Ritzy end has reduced the news almost entirely to a series of Thatcher bores (zzzzz). Consequently, I shall be enjoying music radio until the hoo-ha dies down.

3. Jokes

Come onnnnn. Death can be funny. Black humour anyone? These are some of my favourite dead Thatcher jokes courtesy of Twitter:

Thatcher is dead. Family of Jimmy Saville send wreath saying ‘Thankyou’

Rumours already circulating in Scotland Yard that Thatcher died of a strike and not a stroke

I think a glass of milk is in order

4. Judy Garland back in the charts

Ding Dong, the witch is dead!! No no, I’m not saying that. This, as I said is entirely non-partisan. It’s Judy bloody Garland. Mid-week sales have this classic choon from The Wizard of Oz at number 10. We could yet have a number one on our hands, and as a big Judy Garland fan, I for one am most pleased.

 

(REASONS TO BE PISSED OFF: Anyone remember how long it took for the Diana fuss to die down?)

 

3 Responses to “Reasons To Be Cheeful #11: Thatcher’s Demise”

  1. jane booth April 10, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    That’s great Luc! What is the bottle of milk thing about? I missed that xxx

    Jane Boothhttp://www.janeboothceramics.co.uk

    Date: Wed, 10 Apr 2013 12:48:33 +0000 To: janecbooth@hotmail.com

    • lbellinlondon April 10, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      You know, the whole ‘Thatcher took our free milk away’ business!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reasons To Be Cheerful #15: Thatcher’s ‘Ceremonial’ Funeral | Reasons to be Cheerful (and Pissed Off) - April 17, 2013

    […] mentioned in a previous entry, the demise of Mrs Thatcher has already given me a few reasons to be cheerful. Now with the […]

Leave a Reply

