Reasons To Be Cheerful #35: Game of Thrones ‘Rains of Castamere’

6 Jun

After the absolute horror that was the most recent Game of Thrones episode, I wouldn’t be surprised if fans of the show – incensed by my gall at putting ‘reasons to be cheerful’ and the beloved GOT anywhere near each other – simply slammed their laptops down in utter disgust. But to the understandably dubious, I would say: hey, hold your horses. Now more than ever, we Game of Thrones lovers need some reasons to be cheerful, so here goes:

No more of this...

No more of this…

1. The Hope of The Young

Whilst not quite escaping with pleasant experiences or anything even slightly resembling a summer camp, the younger Starks – Arya, Bran, Sansa and the other boy who is only intermittently remembered… aah yes, Rickon; are all ALIVE. And I see great things in their futures, especially Arya’s (if they kill her too, I may have to give up on life). OH, AND LET’S NOT FORGET BRAN’S PSYCHIC POWERS!

I see dead people?

I see dead people?

2. Starks Reunited (in Heaven)

Admittedly the parentheses make this one a little less cheery for TV viewers, but we can’t be selfish all our lives. At least now that Catelyn is departed she can once more be with her beloved Ned. I’ve got nothing good to say about Robb being dead so we’ll leave it there.

GOT heaven ned

3. Awaiting Joffrey’s Sticky End

There’s no spoiler here, just hope. Hope that the vile little turd that is Joffrey Lannister will soon see his end. Hopefully at the hands of Arya. I’m also adding Walder Frey to my grisly end list, but that surely goes without saying.

Filch must die

Filch must die

4. Khaleesi’s Flirtations

Daenerys remains my all time favourite GOT character. I have a massive massive girl crush on her whilst simultaneously abhorring the phrase ‘girl crush’. And she has a new man in her life in the form of long haired lothario, Daario Naharis. He’s already seen Danny fully naked and there’s definitely a frisson of sexual tension there. I think it’s time Khaleesi got her end away. Sorry Ser Jorah, it ain’t gonna be you.

Daario - I feel the love in the room

Daario – I can feel the love in the room

(REASONS TO BE PISSED OFF: Hardly needs stating really does it. RIP Robb and Catelyn)

One Response to “Reasons To Be Cheerful #35: Game of Thrones ‘Rains of Castamere’”

  1. Erik June 6, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    Rickon! He speaks! Oh. See you later.

Leave a Reply

