Reasons To Be Cheerful #38: The End of Game of Thrones Series 3

12 Jun

Once again, there is a bleak time ahead. For nearly a year I will have to do without the weekly instalments of Starks, Lannisters and Targaryens that have been my spiritual food for the past ten weeks. But despite the relative ease of allowing myself to slip into a black hole of despair, I decided to get a grip and take the positive path. After all, there must be a light before the end of the tunnel. Eventually, I found four. Here they are:

Happier times

Happier times

1. I Will Stop Boring My Non GOT-Watching Friends

Bored

Bored

Obsessing about who exactly had the greatest hand in engineering Robb Stark’s downfall, or discussing the deeper meanings of Khaleesi’s blue dress might be of equal interest to my GOT friends, but to the rest, I can only assume it must be extremely tedious. Like a friend who is obsessed with a new boyfriend, a friend who talks of nothing but Valyrian steel and dragons is a bore. Bring on the un-glazing of the eyes.

2. Time To Go Deep

end of GOT - book

While this one kind of discounts the previous, I can’t honestly say that I care. Without time spent watching, and  laboriously searching for, decent links of GOT, I have the free time to read the original proper GOT book, A Song of Ice and Fire. It’s on its way to me as we speak, and I look forward to boring friends with some truly obscure knowledge about the history of Valyrian steel.

3. A Break From Being on Spoiler Alert

Without episodes to clarify, I will no longer trawl the comments sections of episode blogs and Wikipedia to solidify my understanding. Each time I do this, I increase the risk of reading a spoiler by about threefold. If I had high blood pressure, it would be about to come down.

4. A Joffrey Moratorium

'A jolly little fellow' - sure Cersai, sure

‘A jolly little fellow’ (Cersai)

Even after the wicked deeds of Walder Frey and Roose Bolton, when Joffrey announced that he would set Robb’s head on Sansa’s plate ‘as a joke’ I re-doubled my view of him as GOT’s most evil character. A break from his evil little face will do my spirit good.

(REASONS TO BE PISSED OFF: I have to wait ’til April, APRIL to find out what’s to become of Brienne, Arya, Bran, Jon Snow and everyone else I care about. GAH)

4 Responses to “Reasons To Be Cheerful #38: The End of Game of Thrones Series 3”

  1. fashionpup June 16, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    with you all the way, love GOT. I want everything that Daenerys has ever worn. Or ever will wear!

  2. sarathewindowshopper June 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    OMG yes 40 weeks! That is almost unbearable! While I’m waiting I’ve also decided to go deep and got myself audiobooks of the first three books! I hope the books are as great as the show! 🙂

    • lbellinlondon June 17, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      Me too. I want to know everything, EVERYTHING! lol

  3. sewinggoddess June 17, 2013 at 7:18 am #

    good points! 🙂

Leave a Reply

