Reasons To Be Cheerful #56: Acronyms and Abbrevs

24 Oct

main pic

This week’s post is more appropriately titled r2bc. It’s a celebration of a boom in language once described as text speak and the scourge of many a linguistic purist. It’s part of a dawning realisation that the youth of today  don’t even know how to speak anymore and that the vernacular of laziness has become the order of the day. One school has banned slang and anyone who engages with teenagers will know that it’s just absolutely no use saying ‘go away’ or ‘at the moment’ to one. Obvs they’ll have no idea what you’re talking about. If you didn’t already know this, then all the more reason for you to continue reading. tbc..

What today's teens look like

What today’s teens look like

1. The Fun Ones

Yes it’s been rinsed, over-used and even maybe exceeded its allowed time as a knowing ironic statement, but for me ‘lol’ will just never get old. I especially like it as a verb, ie: how we lolled or im lolling. And that’s not to mention the many offshoots, from lol o’ clock to lolocaust to lol centrale. I could go on. A friend’s favourite is imho (in my humble opinion), not because it’s fun to have an humble option, but because it reads like I’m a ho. What’s not to love?

2. The Aggy Ones

Fml (fuck my life), gtfo (get the fuck out), ttyn (talk to you never),wtf (come on). These all have a nice, slightly aggressive tone to them which I find suits my lifestyle. They’re dismissive but not abusive, and angry but not raging.  They’re also pleasingly opaque when used in the presence of older relatives who have annoyed you.

Geddit?

Geddit?

3. The Easy Ones

You don’t have to work in acronyms to achieve lazy speak, you can simply shorten your words. I like obvs, natch (naturally), stands (standard), unbeliebs, abso (lutely), potensh (potential/ly). Just think of the time that you’ve saved with all this cutting off of spare syllables. Those collective minutes and hours equate to your novel/new language/grade four piano, or even just a clutch of new time-saving words.

4. The Z’s

Even though it fucks me off to high heavens when companies put unnecessary ‘z’s and ‘k’s in words (think skool, kidz, daze for days), it is of course, ok when I do it –  just between friends, natch. I’m having lolz, messaging galz and calling my friends Lozza, Cozza and Jozza. I’m also being quite annoying. Soz.

Abso not kewl

Abso not kewl

(REASONS TO BE PISSED OFF: YOLO. I’m sorry and I know I’m in no position to judge, but I just feel it’s had its day)

2 Responses to “Reasons To Be Cheerful #56: Acronyms and Abbrevs”

  1. Maison Bentley Style October 26, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    You coming to the next Blog party?! would be lovely to see you! xxx

    • lbellinlondon October 31, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Oh no! I missed it. Gutted. I’ve been a bit offline the last few weeks. Will deffo be in for the next one though.

Leave a Reply

